A commercial driver’s license, also known as a CDL license, is the required documentation for working in the trucking industry. To drive Class A, B, or C vehicles, you’ll need the appropriate credentials and a CDL license.
There are three main steps to becoming a truck driver and each step requires a fee.
Step #1 to Get a CDL License: Truck Driver Training
There are three types of CDL licenses, which are Class A, B, and C. CDL Class A license allows a driver to operate any combination of vehicles totaling a gross weight of 26,001 lbs. or more, including Class B and Class C vehicles with proper endorsements. 
Class A vehicles include truck/trailer combinations, tractor-trailers, tankers, large flatbed trucks, and commercial livestock carriers.
There are multiple options when it comes to training for the Class A licensing exam. Midwest Technical Institute (MTI) offers a 20-day CDL Training Course. This course is streamlined to prepare students with previous trucking experience for the state licensing exam. The MTI CDL Training Course is available at the Springfield, MO campus.
MTI also offers an in-depth Professional Truck Driving Program, which occurs over the course of 20 weeks and is offered at the Springfield, MO campus.
MTI’s Admissions Team may be able to assist in identifying potential scholarship opportunities to help cover some education costs for the Professional Truck Driving Program.*
*Financial aid and scholarship opportunities are available for the Professional Truck Driving Program to those who qualify. Financial aid and scholarships are not available for the CDL Training Course.
To learn more about training to become a truck driver, read “How Much Training Does It Take to Become a Truck Driver?”
Step #2 to Get a CDL License: Obtaining a CLP
Fees for obtaining your commercial learner’s permit (CLP) vary by state and type of permit. The state of Missouri  requires a $7.50 CLP fee for a term of 6 months or less.
There are a number of steps that may be required to earn your CLP:
- Background check: Identification will be required (ex. social security card, Medicare ID card, current state license or ID, military ID, passport)
- Proof of residency: Often accepted documents include utility bill, bank statement
- Physical health exams: Includes a vision test and medical exam
- Permit fee: Fees vary by state and type of permit, as noted above
- Waiting period: 14-day waiting timeframe before taking road skills test
Step #3 to Get a CDL License: Completing the CDL Testing & Requirements
When it comes to completing your testing, there will be fees, which vary by state and type of license.
For example, in Missouri , the fees are as follows:
- $25 CDL written test fee
- $25 CDL skills test fee
- $20 CDL license fee (for term of three years or less)
- $2.50 office processing fee (for license term of three years or less)
There are a few other steps that may be required while obtaining CDL license:
- CDL knowledge test: This will test your knowledge of safety, skills, and regulations, necessary to practice safe driving.
- Vehicle inspection: A vehicle inspection tests your vehicle’s safety and functionality.
- Submit driving history: You’ll be required to submit a 10-year driving history, including licenses from other jurisdictions.
- Road skills test: This test route involves a variety of traffic situations, during which you must wear your safety belt, obey all traffic signs, signals, and laws.
- Vehicle: You must provide your own vehicle to use during the exam.
- Pay license fee: License fees will vary by state and type of license.
All of the above steps, with the exception of completing the road skills test, can be done during 14-day waiting period after getting your CLP.
To read up on the process of getting your CDL, take a look at “How Long Does It Take to Get a CDL License?”
What Are the Down-the-Road Fees for Truck Drivers?
While driving, there may be fees down-the-road that you didn’t expect! Pun intended.
In the event that you’d like to specialize in driving a specific type of vehicle, you may need to pay for different endorsements. Fees for this documentation vary by state and the endorsement needed.
As a driver, your vehicle will need to be up-to-date with registration, meaning you’ll need to be on top of paying your vehicle registration fees. Take a look at the Missouri fee table for commercial vehicles  to see what you might pay. You’ll also need to keep your license up-to-date and will need to pay license renewal fees.
Additional fees that are common in the industry may include insurance, gas, and tolls.
Is Truck Driving Right for You?
If you’re interested in learning more about truck driving, read “4 Reasons to Consider Truck Driving in 2018.”
Contact the MTI Admissions Team to learn how you can enroll in truck driver training classes.
Sources https://www.dmv.org/commercial-drivers/cdl-class-types.php  https://www.dmv.org/mo-missouri/apply-cdl.php  https://dor.mo.gov/motorv/fees.php#truck